Confessions and Napping: Weeks 11 & 12

Okay guys… you may have noticed a post missing last week… I have to tell you something… I didn’t go hiking! I know, I know. But do you want to know what I did instead? I cuddled up in front of the TV and watched an engineering show with my favorite man in the world, all while taking an on-and-off nap from about noon to 3pm. AND IT WAS GLORIOUS! I cannot tell you the last time I took a nap, but I can tell you the last time I wanted one: Every. Single. Day.

This was probably the most discussed phenomenon when I was nannying a 2 year old and a 6 year old two summers ago:

“Yes, I know you don’t want to take a nap, but I do!”

“Trust me, one day all you’ll want to do is nap!”

It’s true. So while I didn’t get my exercise in, and I didn’t get any pictures of any beautiful landscapes, I did get some much needed rest, and quality time with this guy I like. 😉

20160904_165532
He’s pretty freaking great!

We also decided to return to Bellingham, a town that will always have my heart, for April Brews Day. We got to support the wonderful Max Higbee Center, while tasting delicious brewed creations from around the region.

Anyway, that was week 11. I guess I’ll just have to make it up by going on two hikes another week (LIKE WHEN I’M IN HAWAII).

Week 12 on the other hand, was full of excitement and go-go-go. I got to see my marvelous college roommates for brunch, saw the Mariners play the longest game ever, (I didn’t stay through the 13th inning) celebrated a beautiful woman’s birthday, and got to venture into the mountains with the ever lovely Maddie.

– Week 12 – 

If you’ve been to Seattle for any extended period of time, chances are someone has mentioned Rattlesnake Ridge to you. Apparently interchangeable with Rattlesnake Ledge, it’s a very accessible, very crowded day-hike about 30 miles outside of downtown Seattle. It’s very possible that it’s been brought up because it seems that every weekend the entire population of the greater Seattle area swarms to its parking lot, and mingles on the trail.

Rattlesnake Lake sits at the trail head and its green fields and calm water transported Maddie and me back to days basking in the Bellingham sun along the shore of Lake Padden. (Again, super nostalgic about the B-ham, if you haven’t been, go. Or don’t… Maybe I want to save it for myself.) The trail climbs pretty steadily and though only about 2 miles each way, you gain about 1160ft according to WTA. The number of small children, like 3-5 years old, that we saw clambering their way up the mountain was impressive, though I empathized with the exhaustion they must have been feeling in their tiny little legs!

As we climbed up Rattlesnake Mountain, most of our attention was spent passing slow groups in front of us, so I didn’t notice much scenery. Because of this, the way down was full of pleasant surprises! But I haven’t mentioned the best part yet.

20170507_140047

There is a reason Rattlesnake ledge is crowded every weekend. We chose to hike a little further than most to reach the upper ledge, though this wasn’t the highest point of the East Ridge, the view was astounding! Not only were we able to look out over the crowded lower ledge, Rattlesnake lake, the Cedar River Watershed, and the cascades beyond, but behind us stood Mt. Si and the gaping Snoqualmie Valley. My sister is lucky enough to work in this beautiful area, and I get now that the hour long drive it worth it!

While crowded, I’m glad I got to see what all the fuss was about on this trail. The spring weather is currently perfect in WA; a little chilly at the base of the mountain, perfectly cool at the top. I’m excited for more to come, and so happy I got to spend time outside with a wonderful friend this week. 😀 Maddiiiieee.

20170507_140118
Snoqualmie Valley
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

